Campus Fashion, Fads and Faux Pas

Student athletes are not known for their fashion on campus

The student athletes here at Lipscomb are very talented on the court, but often times in class seem as if they never learned how to dress themselves. Now, I feel I can say this fairly because I am one myself and I know exactly how much effort is put into our appearance every day, and let me tell you, it’s not much. The funny thing is, I feel as if the guy athletes always look a little better than the girls. Maybe it’s because they don’t have to fix their hair or decide what “cute” outfit to wear to look nice, or at least fit in with the rest of the student population. I will say I have not yet to put on a pair of jeans (much less something nicer) so far this semester, and it is almost over! I am not bragging about this at all; I often times see girls on campus with perfect hair and an adorable sundress and I am always jealous! I really do wish I had the time or energy to do the same. 

Lipscomb volleyball girls dressed in their usual attire.

 I will see a girl on my team, or any other team for that matter, dressed nicely (or normal to most people) and always ask what they have going on that day. Usually the answer is that they have an interview or a date later that night, but sometimes the response is “I just decided to look like a girl today.” That is a good enough answer, I suppose. My teammate, Megan Stout, walked into class one day in a pair of jeans and her professor even asked her, “Megan, why aren’t you sporting your usual sweats and ponytail?”  Sweat pants and a sweatshirt in the winter is the most common outfit for us, while in the summer we are always wearing running shorts, T-shirts and often times a baseball cap. 

 The reason for these fashion faux pas occurring on a daily basis is rooted at our strenuous schedules. We wake up at 5:25 in the morning for weights, and of course no one is going to get ready for that. Next, we go straight to classes without time to shower. We may have a practice sometime during the middle of classes, then we go back to finish them. Finally, we top off the day with another practice and by the end of all of this, we are looking pretty rough. Of course I am not going to apologize for our sloppy style; there are some fair reasons behind it! 

The team looks a little different all dressed up for a special occasion!

 

Do you agree that the athletes dress sloppy most of the time? Are you an athlete that disagrees or even a normal student that dresses the same way?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Student athletes are not known for their fashion on campus

  1. I think it is perfectly understandable. Someday when the athletes are in the business world or have daily jobs that require a different attire than sweatpants or shorts, they will rise to the challenge. Right now, the attire required for your job as student athletes, is a comfortable and sporty one. I would just apprciate it while it lasts!

  2. Wow, I love this post because I am guilty, as an athlete, of doing the same thing. I have no problem wearing my soccer clothes to class because I simply don’t have the time to change before practice or after weights.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

